Amon Amarth

amon-amarth-bio-discography-metal-descentAmon Amarth (@AmonAmarthBand) is a melodic death/Viking metal band from Sweden that has been making music since 1992.  The line up consists of Johan Hegg (vocals), Olavi Mikkonen (guitar), Johan Soderberg (guitar), Ted Lundstrom (bass) and Fredrik Andersson (drums).    Amon Amarth is known for its fast yet melodic riffs, excellent Viking and Norse lyrics and the vocals of Hegg that are an amazing mix of black and death metal styles.

Amon Amarth has its roots in the grindcore band Scum that released some relatively unpopular material in the late 1980’s.  They would soon begin to tinker with their style to incorporate Viking themed songs and added Hegg and Lundstrom to the lineup in 1991.  The band changed its name to Amon Amarth and released the demo Thor Arise in 1992.

The band released a couple of EPs in the mid 1990’s that sold modestly.  They were then picked up by Metal Blade records and released their major label debut Once Sent From the Golden Hall in 1998.  The album met with instant success and helped begin the band’s huge international following.  Shortly after, the band released their second album, The Avenger in 1999.

Through the early 2000’s, the band would release some really great material and would extend the reach of their international popularity even further. Albums like, With Oden on Our Side,  helped to cement the band’s legacy as one of the best extreme metal bands worldwide.  The band’s success catapulted them into multiple headlining tours and tours in support of major acts like Slayer.

In 2008, the band released their seventh album, Twilight of the Thunder God, considered by many to be far and away their best release.  It is the perfect mix of brutal and melodic metal.  The album charted well and won multiple heavy metal awards.  It contains Amon Amarth signatures like “Guardians of Asgaard”, “No Fear for the Setting Sun”, “Twilight of the Thundergod” and “Live for the Kill”.

Amon Amarth continues to be one of the most popular and talented acts in extreme metal.  In June of 2013, the band will release their highly anticipated ninth studio album, Deceiver of the Gods.


  • Thor Arise (1993)
  • The Arrival of the Fimbul Winter (1994)
  • Sorrow Throughout the Nine Worlds (1996)
  • Once Sent from the Golden Hall (1998)
  • The Avenger (1999)
  • The Crusher (2001)
  • Versus the World (2002)
  • Fate of Norns (2004)
  • With Oden on Our Side (2006)
  • Twilight of the Thunder God (2008)
  • Surtur Rising (2011)
  • Deceiver of the Gods (2013)

Related Posts:

{ 1 comment… read it below or add one }

samuel kimiti October 1, 2013 at 10:01 am

hail oh hail the greatest band in the whole universe \,,/


Leave a Comment