KornKorn is considered the very first nu metal band, releasing their self titled major label debut album in 1994, preceded by their independent album in 1993, Nedermayer’s Mind.  The band reached a large audience with the success of their single “Blind.” The original lineup of Korn was Jonathon Davis (vocals), Reginald “Fieldy” Arvizu (bass), James “Munky” Shaffer (guitar), Brian “Head” Welch (guitar) and David Silveria (drums). The band also had some success with the songs “Clown,” “Need To,” and “Shoots and Ladders.”

After their debut album’s success, the band released Life is Peachy in 1996. It featured the singles “No Place to Hide” and “A.D.I.D.A.S. (All Day I Dream About Sex).” The video for the latter song received substantial MTV airplay, which helped propel the band to sell more units of this album and their following album, Follow the Leader, their most commercially successful. “Follow the Leader” featured the singles “All in the Family,” “Got the Life,” and “Freak on a Leash.” The breakthrough success of this album would usher in a wave of nu metal bands that followed suit, like Limp Bizkit, Slipknot, and Linkin Park.

Korn is considered one of the most influential nu metal bands, praised for their hip-hop inspired sound, raw vocals from singer Jonathon Davis, and recognizable guitar sounds courtesy of guitarist James “Munky” Schaffer  and original guitarist Brian “Head” Welch.


  • Korn (1994)
  • Life is Peachy (1996)
  • Follow the Leader (1998)
  • Issues (1999)
  • Untouchables (2002)
  • Take a Look in the Mirror (2003)
  • Greatest Hits Vol. 1 (2004)
  • See You on the Other Side (2005)
  • Live and Rare (2006)
  • MTV Unplugged: Korn (2007)
  • Untitled (2007)
  • Korn III: Remember Who You Are (2010)
  • The Path of Totality (2011)
  • The Path of Totality Tour Live (2012)
  • The Paradigm Shift (2013)

 Related Posts:

{ 0 comments… add one now }

Leave a Comment