Limp Bizkit

Limp BizkitLimp Bizkit is a nu metal band from Jacksonville, Florida that was one of the first breakthrough artists of its genre in the late 90’s. The band consists of Fred Durst (vocals), Wes Borland (guitar), John Otto (drums), Sam Rivers(bass), and DJ Lethal (turntables). Nu metal pioneers Korn had a heavy hand in helping Limp Bizkit promote themselves through touring arrangements.

Limp Bizkit first arrived onto the nu metal scene with their song “Counterfeit,” which debuted the bands signature style of aggressive riffs, rap vocals, heavy bass, and prominent turntable scratching. The song was a minor hit, and was followed by a cover of George Michael’s song “Faith” in 1997. The song became a huge hit, with constant MTV exposure and radio airplay. The album Three Dollar Bill, Yall$ was met with mostly negative reviews, but in retrospect, is considered their best album.

Their sophomore album Significant Other contained their biggest hits, “Nookie,” “N2Gether Now,” and “ReArranged.” The album hit number one on the Billboard 200. The band toured extensively to promote the album on the Family Values tour, culminating with the controversial and violent Woodstock ’99 performance.

Limp Bizkit released Chocolate Starfish and the Hot Dog Flavored Water in 2001, and though the band’s popularity was waning, it debuted at number one. It featured the hits “Rollin’,” “My Generation,” and “My Way.” The album was almost unanimously panned for its lyrics, poppier sound, and Durst’s vocal capabilities.
Following the album’s release, guitarist Wes Borland left the band and was replaced by guitarist Mike Smith for one album, Results May Vary. It featured the song “Behind Blue Eyes,” a cover of the classic The Who song. Borland returned to the fold to record The Unquestionable Truth (Part 1), which highlighted a more progressive, alternative metal sound making more use of Borland’s talents coupled with better lyrics. The album was released without marketing or promotion in 2005 and sold 1,000,000 copies worldwide. The band went on an extended hiatus following the album, with Borland leaving the band once again, only to return for their next album.

Gold Cobra was released in 2011, and was largely a return to the bands sound of their first two albums. In 2015, Limp Bizkit will release Stampede of the Disco Elephants.


  • Three Dollar Bill, Yall$ (1997)
  • Significant Other (1999)
  • Chocolate Starfish and the Hot Dog Flavored Water (2000)
  • Results May Vary (2003)
  • The Unquestionable Truth (Part 1) (2005)
  • Gold Cobra (2011)
  • Stampede of the Disco Elephants(2013)

Related Posts:

{ 0 comments… add one now }

Leave a Comment