Linkin Park

linkin parkLinkin Park are a nu metal/*metal band from Aguora Hills, California. They have released many commercially successful albums which have received frequent rock radio airplay, including Hybrid Theory, Meteora, and Minutes to Midnight. The band is best known for their songs “New Divide,” “One Step Closer,” “In the End, Numb,” “What I’ve Done,” “Crawling,” “Somewhere I Belong,” and “Burn it Down.”

The band consists of Mike Shinoda (vocals, rhythm guitar, piano, keyboards), Chester Bennington (vocals), Joe Hahn (turntables, programming, samples, keyboards), Brad Delson (lead guitar), Rob Bourdon (drums), and Dave Farrell (bass, backing vocals).

Linkin Park was formed in 1996 by members Mike Shinoda, Rob Bourdon, and Brad Delson. Later, the band recruited Joe Hahn and Dave Farrell, and was introduced to Chester Bennington, which rounded out their permanent lineup. Initially the band would call themselves Xero, before changing their name to Hybrid Theory, and finally Linkin Park.

Linkin Park’s debut album, Hybrid Theory, is their most successful album to date. It was the best selling album of 2001, and one of the top selling albums of its decade. It has sold a staggering 24 million copies worldwide.

Linkin Park’s sound is a blend of nu metal and rap metal, with Bennington and Shinoda sharing vocal duties. Hybrid Theory and Meteora, despite being released at the height and decline of nu metal, were the best selling rock albums of their respective years. This is a further testament to their loyal fan base and growing popularity.

In 2007, the band’s sound began to evolve with Minutes to Midnight, experimenting with different hard rock and hip hop sounds. It featured the lead single “What I’ve Done,” which was used in the movie Transformers, and was produced by Rick Rubin. The album was a major success, with the other singles “Bleed it Out,” “Shadow of the Day,” “Given Up,” and “Leave Out All the Rest.”

The band further experimented with their sound for their 2010 album A Thousand Suns, with Rick Rubin returning to produce. The lead single was “The Catalyst,” which featured a much edgier, electronic sound. The album’s fourth single, “Iridescent,” was the most popular of the album, and was featured in the movie Transformers: Dark of the Moon.

In 2012, the band retured to their signature sound with the album Living Things. It was led by the single “Burn it Down.” The band continued to work on a sixth studio album, while Chester Bennington joined Stone Temple Pilots as their new vocalist.  The new album called The Hunting Party was released in June of 2014.  It saw the band move back to a more aggressive sound much like their debut album Hybrid Theory.


  • Hybrid Theory (2000)
  • Meteora (2003)
  • Minutes to Midnight (2007)
  • A Thousand Suns (2010)
  • Living Things (2012)
  • The Hunting Party (2014)

Related Posts:

{ 0 comments… add one now }

Leave a Comment