Ozzy Osbourne

Ozzy OsbourneOzzy Osbourne is the original lead vocalist of Black Sabbath, considered by many to be the first heavy metal band ever. Black Sabbath, with the Osbourne led lineup, had its most successful singles and albums, including its self titled album, Paranoid, Master of Reality, Black Sabbath Vol. 4, and Sabbath Bloody Sabbath.

Ozzy Osbourne went on to experience a very successful solo career following his firing from Black Sabbath. Teaming up with legendary guitarists Randy Rhoads, he released the album Blizzard of Ozz, one of the most influential metal albums of all time. It featured the singles “Crazy Train,” “Mr.Crowley,” “I Don’t Know,” and the controversial “Suicide Solution.”

Blizzard of Ozz was followed by the successful Diary of a Madman, which also featured Rhoads on guitar. The singles “Over the Mountain” and “Flying High Again” were the biggest hits of the album.

After Rhoads’s  untimely death in 1982, Osbourne pondered whether to continue with his career. Ultimately, he decided to continue, and released “Bark at the Moon,” featuring Jake E. Lee as guitarist. One more album would be recorded with Lee, The Ultimate Sin, which contained the hit “Shot in the Dark.”

In 1987, Osbourne teamed up with Zakk Wylde to form the long running duo that would last until 2007’s Black Rain.

The original lineup of Black Sabbath, without original drummer Bill Ward, reformed to record their 13th studio album, 13.

Osbourne also filmed a successful reality TV show aired on MTV, The Osbournes, which ran from  2002-2005.


  • Blizzard of Ozz (1980)
  • Diary of a Madman (1981)
  • Speak of the Devil (1982)
  • Bark at the Moon (1983)
  • The Ultimate Sin (1986)
  • Tribute (1987)
  • No Rest for the Wicked (1988)
  • No More Tears (1991)
  • Live and Loud (1993)
  • Ozzmosis (1995)
  • Down to Earth (2001)
  • Live at Budokan (2002)
  • Black Rain (2007)
  • Scream (2010)

 Related Posts:

{ 0 comments… add one now }

Leave a Comment