Periphery_bandPeriphery is a djent metal band from Bethesda, Maryland.  The band was formed by guitarist Misha Mansoor who had become well known online under his solo project called Bulb.  His musical style is highly influenced by Dream Theater and Meshuggah.  The band has gone through a number of lineup changes over the years.  The current band members consist of Mansoor (guitars), Spencer Sotelo (vocals), Jake Bowen (guitars/electronic elements), Mark Holcomb (guitars), Adam Getgood (bass) and Matt Halpern (drums).  The band has become known for building upon the palm muted progressive metal style created by Meshuggah with more melodic arrangements and atmospheric sounds.

The band signed with Sumerian Records in 2009 and subsequently released their self-titled debut, Periphery, in April of 2010 to rave reviews.  Periphery toured heavily for close to two years in support of the album playing with bands like Protest The Hero, Dream Theater and TesseracT.

The band reentered the studio at the start of 2012 to begin recording their next two albums using a mix of revised Bulb recordings and new material.  Periphery II: This Time It’s Personal was released in July of 2012 and received more positive reactions across the industry.  The other album from the sessions will be titled Juggernaut, but it does not yet have a release date.


  • Periphery (2010)
  • Periphery II: This Time It’s Personal (2012)
  • Juggernaut (TBA)

Related Posts:

{ 0 comments… add one now }

Leave a Comment