Stone Temple Pilots

Stone Temple PilotsStone temple pilots are a grunge band from San Diego, California that reached commercial success from their debut album Core in 1992. The singles “Plush,” “Creep,” “Wicked Garden,” and “Sex Type Thing” were major hits from the album, with “Cracker Man” and “Dead and Bloated” remaining as live favorites.

The band was formed by Scott Weiland (vocals), Rob DeLeo (bass), Dean DeLeo (guitar), and Eric Kretz (drums). The band has broken up several times with singer Weiland. In 2013, the band announced Linkin Park singer Chester Bennington would replace Weiland as the permanent singer for STP. The newly formed band released the single “Out of Time” in May, 2013.

Following the success of Core, the band had a hit single with “Big Empty,” from The Crow Soundtrack. This song was debuted on their rendition of MTV Unplugged in 1993. In 1994, the band released their self titled album, more commonly known as Purple. It contained the hits “Vaseline,” “Unglued,” and the highly successful “Interstate Love Song.” While panned by critics, just like their debut album, STP continued to amass fans and grow in popularity.

Their third album, Tiny Music … Songs From the Vatication Gift Shop, was both critically and commercially successful. The band’s sound evolved with this album into a more classic rock/glam rock inspired sound than their previously labeled “grunge” albums. You could hear influences from David Bowie, The Beatles, and Led Zeppelin throughout the album. The singles included “Big Bang Baby,” “Trippin’ on a Hole in a Paper Heart,” “Lady Picture Show,” and “Tumble in the Rough.”

Following a brief tour for Tiny Music, Scott Weiland released a solo album, 12 Bar Blues, in 1998. STP regrouped in 1998 and released their album No. 4 in 1999. A heavier sounding STP debuted their song “Down” in November 1999, followed by the popular “Sour Girl” in February 2000, which featured Sarah Michelle Gellar in the accompanying music video.

Shangri-La Dee Da was released in 2001, led by the single “Days of the Week.” It was a fairly unsuccessful album released during the height of nu metal, despite receiving good reviews.

Following Shangri-La Dee Da, Stone Temple Pilots disbanded in 2002. Scott Weiland joined the rock supergroup Velvet Revolver, while the DeLeo brothers formed Army of Anyone, fronted by Filter vocalist Robert Patrick.

In 2008, the band reunited and embarked on a full scale North American tour. The band began to record their sixth studio album, Stone Temple Pilots, which was released on May 25, 2010, led by the single “Between the Lines.”  It reached #2 on the Billboard Top 200.

In February 2013, it was announced that Stone Temple Pilots had fired singer Scott Weiland. In May 2013, the band announced they had found a replacement, Chester Bennington of Linkin Park. The band  recorded an EP with Bennington called High Rise that was released in October of 2013 while he remains committed to his other band, Linkin Park.


  • Core (1992)
  • Purple (1994)
  • Tiny Music… Songs from the Vatican Gift Shop (1996)
  • No. 4 (1999)
  • Shangri-La Dee Da (2001)
  • Stone Temple Pilots (2010)
  • High Rise EP (2013)

{ 0 comments… add one now }

Leave a Comment