The Doors

The DoorsThe Doors were a four piece psychedelic rock band from Los Angeles that were a major influence on the 60’s and 70’s rock scene. Led by legendary frontman Jim Morrison, the band took an experimental approach to their music that set them apart from other rock acts. Their lyrics were written by poet/singer Jim Morrison, and dealt with death, sex, love, drinking, drugs, experimentation, war, and peace.

The four original members of The Doors were Jim Morrison (vocals), Ray Manzarek (organ/keyboard, background vocals), Robby Krieger (guitar), and John Densmore (drums). The band continued without Morrison with Manzarek on vocals for two more albums after his death in 1971.

The Doors released six studio albums during their time with Morrison, along with two more studio albums without Morrison. An album in 1978, An American Prayer, used Jim’s unreleased poetry and spoken word recordings backed and accented by the band.

  • The Doors (1967)
  • Strange Days (1967)
  • Waiting for the Sun (1968)
  • The Soft Parade (1969)
  • Morrison Hotel (1970)
  • L.A. Woman (1971)
  • Other Voices (1971)
  • Full Circle (1972)
  • An American Prayer (1978)

Some of their best known songs are “Light My Fire,” “Break on Through to the Other Side,” “L.A. Woman,” “The End,” “Hello I Love You,” “Touch Me,” “Roadhouse Blues,” “Riders on the Storm,” “Love Me Two Times,” and “People Are Strange.”

The Doors have left a mark on the world of rock and heavy metal through the dynamic personality of Morrison, who left the world at the young age of 27.

{ 0 comments… add one now }

Leave a Comment